Bex Rox, Jewelry Designer

Who are you Bex?

I’m Bex Manners and I am a 30 years old.  I grew up on the island of Menorca.  I started my label BEX ROX in 2006 after working as a fashion stylist in New York.

How did you decide to design jewelry?

When I was a fashion stylist, I used to make pieces for shoots all the time. People on the streets would constantly ask me where they were from, they even bought the pieces straight from my neck… That’s how BEX ROX was born.

Can you tell us about Ski Safari, your animal-inspired F/W 11 collection?

Ski Safari was inspired by the Big 5 african animals in combination elements from the art deco period.  I have always adored art deco and I have always incorperated animal elements into my pieces.

Later in the season you will be offering a limited edition piece for the Tusk Trust Charity, can you give us more details on this project?

The Tusk Project started when my brother decided to train to cycle across Africa for TUSK- a charity that focuses on wildlife conservation and community development.  To support my brother, and to tie it in with my Ski Safari collection, I designed the Mini Elephant Collection all with blue tusks- the colour of Life Cycle Africa. I also launched the 4GB USB on multi coloured cord necklaces which hold all the information on the charity along with a 20% discount online.

Which celebrities would you be flattered to see wear your designs?

Alexa Chung, Jessie J, Danni Minogue are some of the celebrities who are already wearing my pieces.

You are based in London, what is your favorite place in the city?

I must say, I do love London for being so eclectic.  I love the parks, the markets, the underground galleries, if only the weather was always bright!

A favorite restaurant?

I love Bar Shu for its sichuan food!

A favorite bar?

Downstairs at Hix is always great for a pre dinner cocktail!

A favorite shop?

I collect vintage- so Portobello Road on a Friday morning is brilliant.

If you could live anywhere else, where would it be?

I would live in Paris

Why?

It’s chic, refined, the food is amazing and you can walk everywhere

What’s next? Any project?

I am just starting a couple of very exciting collaborations which I can’t disclose yet… but they will be launching in SS12!

Check out and shop Bex Rox collections on her website 
Click here to find retailers worldwide.

Leave a Reply

